Filmmakers, Withoutabox
Check out our NEW Add A Project process. You can also upload and view your film in HD! Start Project
  Not logged in
  • English
  • German
  • French
  • Spanish
22-May-2015 3:14pm PDT  


Hollywood Black Film Festival

13 Annual:

  Storyteller Competition

 Switch Category

Deadlines & Entry Fees

Discounted fees apply to projects with pre-purchased Discount Packs, on entry fees greater than 15.00.

All fees will be charged in U.S. Dollar
...but you can display them in these other currencies:

Online Services Offered
Entry Form
Fee Payment
Submission Copy
May 5, 2013
Earlybird Deadline
Regular Discounted
Standard Fee 65.00 60.00

June 16, 2013
Regular Deadline
Regular Discounted
Standard Fee 75.00 70.00

July 1, 2013
Late Deadline
Regular Discounted
Standard Fee 85.00 80.00

July 8, 2013
WAB Extended Deadline
Regular Discounted
Standard Fee 85.00 80.00

Approximately 05-Aug-2013

Text Files
  PDF (.pdf)
  Final Draft (.fdr)
  Final Draft (.fdx)
  Final Draft Secure (.fds)

Prizes & Awards
This category is a competition.

1st Place

Category Rules
Entries must be submitted online through Entries submitted outside Withoutabox will not be considered. If there are any problems with the online submission system, please contact Withoutabox technical support for help. Submit your script online through Withoutabox in one of the available format options only.

Fees can be paid by credit or debit card (VISA, MC, AMEX) online with the script submission. Make checks/money orders payable to: Hollywood Black Film Festival. Entry fees are non-refundable.


Scripts must be formatted properly (see The Complete Guide to Standard Script Formats, by Cole/Haag). HBFF suggests Courier 12 point or that closest to typewriter print. Feature length screenplays should be between 70 and 120 pages, shorts between 5 and 50 pages. Pages must be numbered. DO NOT INCLUDE THE WRITER(S) NAME, WGA NUMBER, ANY KIND OF CONTACT INFORMATION, OR ANY OTHER IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION ON THE COVER OR ANYWHERE WITHIN THE SCRIPT. Any submission that does not at least meet the basic industry standards mentioned here will be disqualified and not read.

Black writers, producers, directors, actors and/or other person(s) who write or co-write the submitted script(s) are eligible.