14th Annual

Cinequest Screenwriting Competition


Teleplays (60 minutes)


Deadlines & Entry Fees

All fees will be charged in U.S. Dollar

Online Services Offered
Entry Form
Fee Payment
Submission Copy
Earlybird Deadline
July 13, 2018
Regular Discounted
Standard Fee 35.00 30.00
Regular Deadline
September 21, 2018
Regular Discounted
Standard Fee 40.00 35.00
Late Deadline
October 12, 2018
Regular Discounted
Standard Fee 55.00 50.00
WAB Extended Deadline
November 2, 2018
Regular Discounted
Standard Fee 60.00 45.00

Discounted fees apply to projects with pre-purchased Discount Packs, on entry fees greater than 30.00.

Category Details

Approximately January 31, 2019

Submission & Exhibition Format Requirements

Text Files
  PDF (.pdf)

Prizes & Awards

This category is a competition.

1st Place
(1) Receives $1,000 USD cash prize. Winning script by more than one writer will have cash prize split evenly between members of the writing team. (2) Presented with an inscribed Crystal Award during Cinequest Film & VR Festival. (3) Amenities listed in Finalist sections.
Cash Award Value: 1,000 U.S. Dollar

Top Three Finalists
1) Opportunity to have script read by top level industry producers and writers (Jury will be announced in June 2018) 2) All of the amenities of the Top 10 Finalists

Top Ten Finalists
(1) Recognition (script title, genre and tagline) on Writers Celebration event page on 2019 Cinequest Film & VR Festival website. (2) Recognition (script title, genre and tagline) in printed 2019 Cinequest Film & VR Festival Guide (3) Invitation to 2019 Cinequest Film & VR Festival with two Artist festival passes (passes valued at $1,000). (4) Exclusive invitation to Writers Celebration (March 2019), which includes a BUSINESS OF WRITING FORUM, WRITER MEETS PRODUCER MIXER to connect with industry leaders, PITCH TRAINING & CHALLENGE to a panel of industry powerhouses, and an inspiring MAVERICK SPIRIT luminary event. (5) Special discounts and rates on accommodations during 2019 Cinequest Film & VR Festival.

Category Rules


Length should be between 45 and 70 pages. Any script over the indicated page limit will receive automatic point deductions per page over. Maximum points achievable are 50 per round.

All genres accepted. Especially seeking drama, comedy, thriller/mystery, action, drama, sci-fi, action, and highly original material.

Script must be submitted in English.

Only PDFs will be accepted for submission. Printed scripts are not accepted.

Script must be properly formatted according to industry standards.

Please include ONLY your script’s title on your cover page so that readers may remain unbiased in their decisions. Your Withoutabox tracking number will automatically be assigned to your uploaded script.

Maintain your full contact information in your Withoutabox registration. Do not include any contact information on your submitted script.


Any script that becomes purchased, optioned or put into production before the final Jury decision of February 15, 2019 will be eliminated from the competition with no entry fee refund.

Scripts written as adaptations of other works must have secured rights before being submitted.

Once the entry is received no rewritten/corrected pages will be accepted.

Submission fees are collected by Withoutabox. Cinequest does not accept payment by cash, check, money order or postal money order.

Winning scripts by more than one writer will have the prize split evenly between members of the writing team.


All contestants will receive 2-4 lines of general feedback for improvement on their script. Full script coverage services are not available at this time.

Writers will be notified on their status in the competition via the email address provided at time of registration. Please save screenplay@cinequest.org in your contact lists to receive these notifications. See below for selection process:

• Top 50 notified in December 2018
• Top 10 notified and Invited to Cinequest Film & VR Festival in January 2018
• Top 10 & Top 3 announced at Cinequest Media Launch and listed on website – January 2019
• Winners announced at Cinequest’s Writers Celebration in March 2019