14th Annual

Cape Fear Independent Film Festival

May 01, 2014 to May 04, 2014

Add to Watchlist Qualify this Project
Film Market
Submit Online
341 S. College Rd Ste 11
PMB 3006
Wilmington NC 28403
Phone: 910.742.0012

HARD-TO-GET INFO • An event by this name may exist, but we have not been able to find even basic information about it. The listing remains available for your reference.

We will accept films 48 minutes in length or less in the short film category in most genres (see listing below).
Any film 49 minutes or longer will be considered a feature length film.
The Don Screenwriting Award
New for 2014, this category will have an award for best PRODUCED SCREENPLAY. To qualify for this category, you must submit your completed Feature Film along with the screenplay from which that film was made. FIlms submitted for THE DON will also be considered for the Best Feature Film Award. THE DON SCREENWRITING AWARD was created to hor the memory of writer Don Payne, known for his work on The Simpsons and the Fantastic Four and Thor movies. The screenplays will be judged by 2 of Don's former Simpsons' colleagues, Joel H. Cohen and Caroline Omine.


The CFI: Film Festival fulfills the Mission of the Cape Fear Independent Film Network by providing a way for the independent filmmaker to get his or her work in front of an audience. This festival is open to films from all over the world, but specializes in films made in the state of North Carolina.


Founded in the year 2000, the Cape Fear Independent Film Festival calls Wilmington, North Carolina home. Nestled in the heart of the Cape Fear Coast, Wilmington is more than a quaint seaside town. It is rich with history and culture; a vibrant port city; home to the NC Azalea Festival and home to Screen Gems Studios. Starting back in 1980 when Dino DeLaurentis filmed "FIRESTARTER", Wilmington has built a long and proud tradition of professional film making that has earned it the name "Hollywood East". The festival boasts an intensive film competition, spotlighting local and regional films, celebrity hosts and US/World feature film premieres. Past hosts have included, Joe Manganiello (True Blood), Nick Searcy (Justified), Danielle Panabaker (Piranha 3DD) and Julianna Guill (Friday the 13th). Feature Film Premieres have included THE CAKE EATERS (Mary Stuart Masterson), CHOOSE (Marcus Graves), SAVAGE (Justin Blum), AMERICAN WARSHIPS (Thunder Levin) and HEART OF THE COUNTRY (John Ward). The festival offers a $250 Prize for Best Short and $500 Prize Best Feature as well as several category awards


Joyce Fernando (Festival Director); Kathleen Gehron (Treasurer); Kathleen Gehron (Treasurer); Rich Gehron (President)



All entries must be submitted on one of the approved PREVIEW formats along with a completed entry form and appropriate entry fee.
Short Films must be 48 minutes or less.

North Carolina residents, take $5 OFF the regular and WAB entry fees. Proof of residency must be included with the submission, in order to qualify.

Grand Prize for Best Short Film is $250

Grand Prize for Best Feature Film is $500

Awards will be given in the following categories: Family/Faith, Comedy, Drama, Horror, Documentary, Director's Choice, Animation/Experimental & Local/Regional.


Submitting filmmakers must acknowledge that they have acquired any and all necessary rights to the content of the submitted film, including rights to copyrighted music, images and talent release. They agree that the Cape Fear Independent Film Network will not be held responsible for any copyright infringement by their film, unintentional or otherwise.